Patterns and Teachers

Recently I have quite seriously had to consider what life would be like, if I had no limitations.

What would I be doing? How would I be spending my time?

I guess ultimately it all comes down to purpose. Sometimes we do not see or do not accept our purpose because we are not really looking to living in truth and liberation. Sometimes we are trapped in Karmic patterns that we simply cannot see outside of. We are intimately locked into a reality of craving and desire, and we will not be freed until this is fulfilled. Even if the doorway to Heaven opened, we might not have the ability to see and walk through it. How do we even know?

We often have a vague sensation of where we want to go, but many things often stand in the way of getting there. It’s like you’re caught in a groove in time that just looks the same. And it plays over… and over… and over again.

How do we get out of these intractable patterns?

The first step is to actually see the pattern. In this way, it’s essential to have a teacher, such as my Elder, Grandmother Pa’Ris’Ha, who has the compassion and strength to tell you point blank to your face, when you are in such a pattern. Often you need to be shocked, zapped, so that you don’t interpret an interaction just on your own terms, to manipulate it to play your own often twisted game of the ego.

In those brief moments of lucidity, I am so grateful to be close to One who has the Truth, whose mind is unshakeable, even when this world of illusion assaults it with all its guile.

This entry was posted in Conversations with my Grandmother. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment